HomeMicrosoft OfficeMicrosoft OutlookOutlook: Empty the Deleted Items Folder upon Exiting

Outlook: Empty the Deleted Items Folder upon Exiting

Outlook sends all your deleted messages to your deleted folder by default. This tutorial describes how to delete them forever.


I have always liked the idea of multiple layers to delete. Windows sends files to your Recycle Bin first. Outlook sends deleted email messages to your Deleted Items folder first.

However, these days because of spam, your Deleted Items folder can get mighty big mighty fast. Here is how, by default, to delete email messages forever without using the Deleted Items folder.

1. Click the Tools menu.
2. Click Options.
3. Click the Other tab.
4. Select the Empty the Deleted Items folder upon exiting checkbox.
5. Click OK.

Now, all your “deleted” items will be removed once you exit Outlook.

David Kirk
David Kirk
David Kirk is one of the original founders of tech-recipes and is currently serving as editor-in-chief. Not only has he been crafting tutorials for over ten years, but in his other life he also enjoys taking care of critically ill patients as an ICU physician.
RELATED ARTICLES

2 COMMENTS

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisment -

Most Popular

Recent Comments

Cleveland Furia on How to Clear Google Activity
Sid Wohlfarth on How to Clear Google Activity
Riley Magsayo on How to Clear Google Activity
สมัครรับเครดิตฟรี ทันที on How to improve Remote Desktop Protocol Performance
Neal Wangstad on How to Clear Google Activity
Slavcho Andov on How to install Ubuntu
Slavcho Andov on How to fix bad sectors
Sheraz Ali on How to Backup Android