How to Prevent Being Checked Into Facebook Places (Privacy)

Posted August 18, 2010 by Rob Rogers in Internet

Facebook Places is similar to Foursquare, as you can check in at various locations and tell your Facebook friends where you are. You can also check in other Facebook friends (or be checked in by your Facebook friends) announcing their location. If you are concerned about privacy, you can disable this functionality.

1. Go to Facebook and login to your account.

2. Go to the upper-right corner and click Account from the menu.

3. Select Privacy Settings.

4. Under Sharing on Facebook, select Customize settings.

5. Locate Places I check in.

6. Click the associated button and select Custom.

7. Under Make this visible to, use the dropdown and select Only Me.

8. Click the Save Settings button.

9. Uncheck the Include me in “People Here Now” after I check in Enable checkbox.

10. Under Things others share, click the associated button for Friends can check me into Places and select Disabled.

 

About Rob Rogers

Once a prolific author here on Tech-Recipes, Rob has moved on to greener pastures.
View more articles by Rob Rogers

The Conversation

Follow the reactions below and share your own thoughts.