Facebook: Limit Who Sees the Old Posts on Your Timeline

Posted October 3, 2011 by Rob Rogers in Facebook, Internet

Facebook has introduced new functionality that gives people a look at all of your posts that you have shared with more than your friends via your Timeline. If you wish to prevent those who aren’t already your friends from seeing these old posts, you can do this without having to find each post and changing its settings.

1. Go to Facebook and login to your account.

2. Click the dropdown arrow in the upper-right corner and select Privacy Settings from the menu.

3. Scroll down to the Limit the Audience for Past Posts section and click Manage Past Post Visibility.

4. Click the Limit Old Posts button.

5. When the confirmation window appears, click the Confirm button.

6. When the action has completed, click the Close button.

 

About Rob Rogers

Once a prolific author here on Tech-Recipes, Rob has moved on to greener pastures.
View more articles by Rob Rogers

The Conversation

Follow the reactions below and share your own thoughts.

  • Bec

    I did this and it deleted all my past posts from my timeline. It’s meant to just limit past posts from being seen by the public, but instead it just erased them from my timeline so that both myself and my friends can’t see them. There is no way of reversing this, despite their explanation that you can simply go through each post and change the audience manually. Because they deleted all my past posts there’s no way of accessing these posts to change the audience. Facebook Support do not reply to any emails. I’m quite annoyed that they mis-represented this function to be something that it’s not.

    • Tabby Saurus

      It is really aggravating. I just sent them an email, and if they don’t respond, I will keep sending them emails because I had a few important links on there that I had to post on there when my laptop crashed to keep them “safe”.>