On the Apple Watch, Glances are like mini versions of full apps and provide summaries of key content from the apps you use most frequently. Glances can be accessed by swiping up from the watch face. Since a Glance takes up the whole screen, it may take several swipes to the left to access the Glance screen that you want. Luckily, you can always rearrange the order of your Glances, remove the ones you do not need, and add new ones if you want.
By default, all notifications that are shown on your iPhone can also be shown on your Apple Watch. Showing all your notifications on your Apple watch is not a good idea because the notifications that are useful on your iPhone may not be useful on the watch. For example, notifications coming from your favorite games may not be helpful at all. Too many notifications buzzing on your wrist can also be distracting. To deal with this problem, you should consider turning off unnecessary notifications and only keep the ones that matter most on your wrist. Here’s how to do it.
Since the Apple Watch’s screen is very small, navigating around and opening apps may be a troublesome task for people with big fingers. To make things easier, you can rearrange the app layout to place frequently-used apps around the center of the layout. At the center, the icons of the chosen apps are already at their largest size when you open the app screen.
iPhone’s built-in Camera app has the ability to record slow motion videos. iPhone 5S users can record at 120 FPS (frames-per-second) while iPhone 6 and iPhone 6 Plus users have an extra 240 FPS mode. Aside from recording slow motion videos with amazingly smooth quality, the feature lets you choose a certain part of the video that you want to highlight using the slow motion effects. If you are interested in learning how to capture your own slow motion videos, read on.
By default, the Notification Center and Today view on your iPhone can be accessed even when the phone is locked. While this feature is convenient, it may expose sensitive information to anyone holding your phone. Fortunately, you can block access to both if you want.
No one should be using iPhone’s physical storage to store contacts anymore. iCloud has made that obsolete. These instructions explain how contacts are stored on your iPhone and how you can recover those from your iCloud account if you lose them.
If you have always saved your accounts’ passwords when logging into websites using Safari on your iPhone, you can view the passwords in plain text whenever you want. This can be very helpful when you forget them.
Enabling two-factor authentication (also known as two-step verification) protects your Microsoft account from hackers. If your password is stolen, the hacker will not be able to log in to your account because Microsoft will require a code generated by your cell phone to log in. Read on to learn how to make your account more secure by enabling this feature.
Here is why you should think twice before you log in to Google Chrome or use Gmail. If you do either of those, then Google can associate your search history with your name. If you do not, Google can still track you, but it might not always be able to associate your name and email (i.e., Google account) with your searches. If privacy is a primary concern for you, here is how to locate and remove your Google search history.
By default, whenever you use Safari to download common files such as music, pictures, videos or PDF documents, the program will open them automatically for you after they have finished downloading. While this feature may be convenient in some cases, it could be a bother if you are downloading files in bulk. Fortunately, this feature can be disabled.
Category Mac OS X Yosemite