How Can I Hide My Facebook Profile Preview when People Google Me?
When people google your name, they can see a small portion of your profile on Facebook. Often it will show your friends’ names and what you “like” in this profile preview. You can prevent your profile preview from appearing in google by following these directions.
In using a social network, a difficult balance exists between what to publicly share and what to keep private. By default facebook exposes a brief profile preview of you to the public. Mine looks like this:
If you do not want this information to appear visible to the public, you can disable facebook’s preview of your profile.
In the upper right-hand corner, click Account and then Privacy Settings.
Click Edit your settings under Applications and Websites
Select the Edit Settings button under Public Search
Uncheck the Enable public search box.
Be aware that google will have to respider the facebook page and clear the cache before your information will no longer be visible. This could take hours to days.
View more articles by David Kirk
Follow the reactions below and share your own thoughts.