iOS4.2: Block FaceTime or Deleting Apps

   Posted November 23, 2010 by David Kirk in Apple iPhone

My kids enjoy playing with my iPhone. Inevitability, one of them accidentally deletes an application. They think that FaceTime is the coolest thing ever; however, I certainly do not want them trying to FaceTime everybody in my contacts. These issues can be easily restricted on any iOS 4.2 compatible device such as an iPhone, iPod Touch, or iPad.

Don’t get me wrong. My kids are great. The iPhone has served my family well when the kids are going crazy in a boring situation. However, as kids explore these devices, sometimes they accidentally do bad things. You don’t want them trying to FaceTime with your boss, do you?

iOS 4.2 expands on the already excellent parental restrictions. The blocking of FaceTime and the preventing of deletion of existing apps have both now been included.

block facetime or app deletion through restrictions

1. Click Settings
2. Select General
3. Select Restrictions
4. Enable Restrictions if not already done so. You’ll need to use a PIN to do this.
5. Slide the FaceTime or Deleting Apps toggle to OFF if you want to block those features.

 

About David Kirk

David Kirk is one of the original founders of tech-recipes and is currently serving as editor-in-chief. Not only has he been crafting tutorials for over ten years, but in his other life he also enjoys taking care of critically ill patients as an ICU physician.
View more articles by David Kirk

The Conversation

Follow the reactions below and share your own thoughts.