Vista and XP: Disable the Recycle Bin Confirmation Message

   Posted October 7, 2004 by David Kirk in Windows

Do you hate the “Are you sure you want to send this file to the Recycle Bin?” message? Then disable it.


If you get tired of the extra confirmation message every time you try to delete something, just disable that extra step. It’s easy and quick.

    1. Right-click the Recycle Bin
    2. Select Properties in the context menu
    3. Uncheck Display delete confirmation dialog checkbox
 

About David Kirk

David Kirk is one of the original founders of tech-recipes and is currently serving as editor-in-chief. Not only has he been crafting tutorials for over ten years, but in his other life he also enjoys taking care of critically ill patients as an ICU physician.
View more articles by David Kirk

The Conversation

Follow the reactions below and share your own thoughts.