How To Deactivate Facebook Account | Steps

Posted November 8, 2017 by Beejay Adoghe in Apps, Facebook

deactivate facebook acount

Hey There!  It’s amazing that you can deactivate Facebook account temporarily and decide to come back to the account whenever you choose to. I guess at this point you are wondering how this can be done, I will say just put a grin on your face because the steps in this article are going to be so easy to follow.

But then before you deactivate  Facebook account you need to understand what deactivating your Facebook account really means.

Think about this first, do you really want to deactivate or delete your Facebook account?  These two words are very different from each other {deactivate and delete}.

Deactivating Facebook account only suspends your account, which means your data and profile will remain invisible until you reactivate the account by signing back in. Facebook also saves your data and profile while your account is deactivated. You always have the option of reactivating your Facebook account again at any time.

On the other hand, deleting your account permanently kicks out your Facebook account off the face of the earth. This means you will never have access to that account again.

So, before going ahead with either of this ”deactivating and deleting”, you must be sure you don’t have any linked account that also connects to your Facebook which requires signing in.

Alright, let’s proceed!

Facebook has been so useful in the past years bringing people together, Facebook is fun but some users have been affected negatively. How? Well, for some? it takes away their concentration.

Facebook has some annoying ”traits” that make users think of deleting their accounts. Most times friends add you to annoying groups of which you end up getting tons of notifications from. Others invite you to play games, and so on. Things like these leave a Facebook user with no other option than deleting his/her Facebook account so as to concentrate on something else.

Now, this is where I come in.

You really don’t have to go as far as deleting your Facebook account. I will show you how to deactivate Facebook account, which gives you the liberty to sign in again at any time.

Facebook doesn’t make the process of deactivating facebook account easy, but I have tried my best to make the steps easy for you.

Reasons Why You Should Deactivate Facebook Account

  • To limit addiction on Facebook: Social media can lead to a massive addiction if it’s not judiciously minimized.
  • It’s a tool of distraction:  You may want to concentrate on your studies, learn a trade or the piano yet you keep getting stuck on always going to view your Facebook page and spending more time on it.
  • For Privacy: I guess this one is self -concerned.

 

There are other reasons why you should deactivate our Facebook account.

Alright, after all, said and done, let us go back to the topic for this article.

 

Note: I used an Android device to show the process of deactivating Facebook Account

 

How To Deactivate Facebook Account

1. Open Facebook App.

2. Tap on the utility Icon.

 

deactivate facebook acount

 

3. Scroll all the way down and tap on Account settings.

deactivate facebook acount

 

4. Tap on General near the top screen of your device.

Screenshot_2017-11-08-11.png

 

5. Tap on Manage Account.

deactivate facebook account

 

6. Tap on Deactivate.

deactivate facebook account

 

7. For security purposes enter your password and tap on continue.

deactivate facebook acount

 

8. Choose a reason for deactivating your account.

deactivate facebook account

 

9. If your reasons are reasonable you will receive a pop-up message, Tap on close

deactivate facebook account

 

10. When you get an email, Tap on keep me signed in messenger

11. A pop-up message will show on your screen Tap on Deactivate or Confirm.

At this point, you have successfully deactivated your Facebook account and you can reactivate it by signing back in.

 

Frequently Asked Questions And Answers

Q: What really happens when I deactivate my Facebook Account?

A: Your Facebook account will be inactive and hidden from other people. When you deactivate your account, Facebook will save your settings. Facebook will also save your photos/videos and information in case you decide to reactivate your account at any time.

Q: If I deactivate my facebook account does it affect my messenger app?

A: Yes, it does. Messenger is an app that helps one chat on Facebook without much stress. Once you are no longer on Facebook, your friends on messenger can’t find you there eighter.

Q: If I deactivate my account can I create another? 

A: Of course you can.

 

About Beejay Adoghe

Beejay Adoghe is basically a computer scientist and a tech geek bent on giving top-notch information.
View more articles by Beejay Adoghe

The Conversation

Follow the reactions below and share your own thoughts.