Removal Parallels Virtual Machines from Time Machine

   Posted by David Kirk in Apple Mac

The virtual machines in parallels are huge and will quickly eat up your valuable Time Machine space. These steps will prevent parallels from backing up your virtual machines to your Time Machine drive.


Virtual Machines take up a ton of space. My generic Windows 7 install takes 10 gigs of space. As soon as you build a virtual machine, Time Machine backup will gladly start mirroring to your backup drive.

If you are like me and do not keep any essential information in your virtual installations and drives, then there is no reason to back them up.

Here is how to prevent Parallels from backing up the virtual machines:

1. Load the Virtual Machine
2. From the Virtual Machine menu click Configure or click the Configure icon as circled below:
virtual machine configure button
3. Select the Genera tab
4. Check No not back up with Time Machine

do not back up in time machine

5. Select OK

 

About David Kirk

David Kirk is one of the original founders of tech-recipes and is currently serving as editor-in-chief. Not only has he been crafting tutorials for over ten years, but in his other life he also enjoys taking care of critically ill patients as an ICU physician.
View more articles by David Kirk

The Conversation

Follow the reactions below and share your own thoughts.

2 Responses to “Removal Parallels Virtual Machines from Time Machine”

  1. June 16, 2010 at 11:36 am, Edblanton said:

    Agree with the above. Any vital data in the virtual machine can be saved into a “Shared with Mac” folder. Then, that folder will be backed up with Time Machine.

    Reply

Leave a Reply