Minecraft: Use or Lock Older Versions After Updating

   Posted July 8, 2013 by David Kirk in Games

The latest Minecraft launcher required for versions 1.6 and above will automatically upgrade you to the latest version of the Minecraft software. However, for many of us playing on servers, we will need to continue to use older versions until the server is updated. Through the latest Minecraft launcher, using older versions and preventing updates can be accomplished through the following steps.

I was surprised today when I was unable to log into my favorite Minecraft server. It seems that the new launcher by default automatically downloads and runs the latest release of Minecraft. Although the launcher does not look very user friendly, rolling back or defaulting to a prior version is pretty simple.

1. Launch the latest version of the Minecraft launcher.

2. Click the Edit Profile button.

3. Under Use version select the version you wish to use. Now you will default to this version each time you start the launcher. You can see here that I have rolled back to 1.6.1 which is what my server currently requires.

4. Click the Save Profile option.

5. Launch Minecraft.

use older version of minecraft through the new launcher

Many people were worried about installing 1.6 with the new launcher; but, you can see, it is trivial to drop back to pre 1.6 versions such as 1.5.x as long as the older versions have been previously installed.

 

About David Kirk

David Kirk is one of the original founders of tech-recipes and is currently serving as editor-in-chief. Not only has he been crafting tutorials for over ten years, but in his other life he also enjoys taking care of critically ill patients as an ICU physician.
View more articles by David Kirk

The Conversation

Follow the reactions below and share your own thoughts.