Outlook: Empty the Deleted Items Folder upon Exiting

   Posted January 12, 2004 by David Kirk in Microsoft Outlook

Outlook sends all your deleted messages to your deleted folder by default. This tutorial describes how to delete them forever.


I have always liked the idea of multiple layers to delete. Windows sends files to your Recycle Bin first. Outlook sends deleted email messages to your Deleted Items folder first.

However, these days because of spam, your Deleted Items folder can get mighty big mighty fast. Here is how, by default, to delete email messages forever without using the Deleted Items folder.

1. Click the Tools menu.
2. Click Options.
3. Click the Other tab.
4. Select the Empty the Deleted Items folder upon exiting checkbox.
5. Click OK.

Now, all your “deleted” items will be removed once you exit Outlook.

 

About David Kirk

David Kirk is one of the original founders of tech-recipes and is currently serving as editor-in-chief. Not only has he been crafting tutorials for over ten years, but in his other life he also enjoys taking care of critically ill patients as an ICU physician.
View more articles by David Kirk

The Conversation

Follow the reactions below and share your own thoughts.