OSX Mail: Leave Messages on Server

   Posted February 5, 2007 by David Kirk in Apple Mac

Typically after you download your email from your POP server to your computer, the messages are deleted from the server. By leaving your email on the server for a certain period of time, you can download your email to more than one computer easily.


If you have multiple computers from which you like to check your email, you may want to leave your messages on your server for a while. Typically when you download your email it removes the messages from the server. Then when you connect with another computer, you have no messages to pull. However, if you leave messages on the server, then you can download the email to any computer that you use.

Here is how to leave messages on the POP server in OSX:

1. Open Mail
2. Click Mail menu
3. Select Preferences
4. Select Accounts
5. Select Advanced
6. Check Remove copy from server after retrieving a message
7. Set time you want to leave messages on server
8. Close dialog box and save

osx_save_messages_server

 

About David Kirk

David Kirk is one of the original founders of tech-recipes and is currently serving as editor-in-chief. Not only has he been crafting tutorials for over ten years, but in his other life he also enjoys taking care of critically ill patients as an ICU physician.
View more articles by David Kirk

The Conversation

Follow the reactions below and share your own thoughts.