Mac OSX: Delete a User Account

Posted October 7, 2005 by Rex in Mac system administration

Deleting a user account is neat and clean with Mac OS X. This tech-recipe describes the procedure and consequences of deleting a user.


To delete a user with Mac OS X, click System Preferences, and then click Accounts. Next, select the user to delete. Click on the minus sign under the Login Options button, authenticating as the administrator if needed.

When a user is deleted in this manner, the contents of the user’s directories are stored in a disk image (/Users/Deleted Users/userid.dmg). This file can be deleted (by an administrator) or kept (just in case).

The Conversation

Follow the reactions below and share your own thoughts.